Winterschließzeiten der Mediathek / Media library closed during holidays: 24.12.2018-06.01.2019
Das Bewegungstraining findet in dieser Zeit nicht statt / the movement training won't take place either

Tony De Maeyer

The Belgian actor for film and theatre was born in Brussels and studied at the Koninklijk Vlaamn Conservatorium in Antwerpen (B) with Ivo Van Hove, which was followed by year-long further education in workshops with, a.o., Luk Perceval, Minako Seki, Enrique Vargas, Thierry Salmon and many others.

In 1996 he met Gennadi N.Bogdanov in Berlin (Trainer for Biomechanics at the former GITIS in Moscow), which marks the beginning of an intensive cooperation, which enables De Maeyer to learn the practise of Biomechanics of Meyerhold. Most probably, De Maeyer is one of the only actors worldwide, who has achieved the perfect assimilation of the principles of Biomechanics for his acting practice, both on stage and in film. For many years, De Maeyer has led workshops for Biomechanics at theatre schools both internationally and nationally, e.g. at the Univerität der Künste, Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg or at Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz, as wellas other private schools in Germany. As expert for Biomechanics he has been invited to many state theatres and ensembles to supervise their productions by training the actors, making them familiar with the principles of Biomechanics and directing bodies in space. Thus he has workes with, a.o., Christian von Treskow, Dimiter Gottschef, Darijan Mihajlovic.

De Maeyer‘s intention is to develop Biomechanics further as a modern acting technique and to free it from its often very dogmatic historic context. For the practice of acting, Biomechanis, in addition to Stanislawsky‘s method, still seems of high importance.

Since 2006, he has been working as trainer for Biomechanics at the mime centrum berlin.

At the Film festival Brussels, De Maeyer received the award for Best Actor in 1993.


 

Focus of training
The theatrical-biomechanical training essentially comprises a compendium of exercises to build up and improve the physical constitution of actors as well as to rehearse the principles of motion analysis and construction. The attention is focused on the interplay of balance, rhythm, space and perception of one's own body, as well as on the musicality and the poetic expressiveness of the body in motion.
Consciousness for form, spatial coordination, body control, rhythm and musicality but also eccentricity and grotesqueness, i. e. the search for extreme physical states, are important characteristics of the biomechanical play culture. Biomechanically trained actors are able to master an extremely broad spectrum of expressive possibilities and are able to change registers of acting within a very short period of time, from the expressive-artificial to a reduced naturalism or slapstick and clownery. The astonishing versatility of biomechanics and its ability to integrate new influences into its own system make it an effective instrument of eclectic, postmodern ways of playing, which aesthetically reflect the performative character of the theatre.

„The fundamental rule of Biomechanics is very simple: the whole body participates in every movement“
W. Meyerhold

Tony De Maeyer

Der belgische Film- und Theaterschauspieler wurde in Brüssel geboren und studierte am Koninklijk Vlaamn Conservatorium in Antwerpen (B) bei Ivo Van Hove und bildete sich nachher jahrelang weiter aus über Workshops mit, u.a. Luk Perceval, Minako Seki, Enrique Vargas, Thierry Salmon und v.a.

1996 trifft er Gennadi N.Bogdanov in Berlin (Dozent für Biomechanik am ehemaligen GITIS in Moaskau). Das ist der Beginn einer üußerst intensiven Zusammenarbeit, die es ihm ermöglicht, sich die Biomechanik Meyerholds in der Praxis zu Eigen zu machen. De Maeyer ist vermutlich ein von den wenigen schauspieler weltweit der ie perfekte Assimilation der Biomechanik Prinzipien in sein Schauspiel erricht hat, sowohl auf der Bühne als auch im Film. Seit vielen Jahren unterrichtet und leitet De Maeyer Workshops für Biomechanik an Theaterschulen im In- und Ausland, wie z.B. universität der Künste (Udk), die Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg oder die Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz, so wie auch private Schauspielschulen in Deutschland. Als Biomechanik Experte wird er seit viele Jahre an Staatliche Theatern (Theater Aachen, Volksbühne...) so wie auch bei Theaterensembles engagiert um Theaterprouktionen künstlerisch zu betreuen, in dem er die Schauspieler trainiert, sie mit den Prinzipien der Biomechanik vertraut macht und Körper in Bewegung inszeniert. So arbeitete er u.a. mit Christian von Treskow, Dimiter Gottschef, Darijan Mihajlovic.

De Maeyer hat es sich als Aufgabe gestellt die Biomechanik Meyerholds aus ihre allzu dogmatischen historieschen Kontext zu befreien und sie als moderne Schauspielmethode weiter zu entwickeln. Er betrachtet, neben der Arbeit von K.Stanislavski, die Biomechanik als äußerst relevant und unentbehrlicj für das Handwerk des Schauspielers.

Seit 2006 ist er als Biomechaniktrainer am Mime Centrum Berlin engagiert.

Als Schauspieler erhielt De Maeyer 1993 die Auszeichnung für den Besten Schauspieler auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival von Brüssel.

 

Trainingsschwerpunkt

Das theatralisch-biomechanische Training umfasst im Wesentlichen ein Kompendium von Übungen zum Aufbau und zur Verbesserung der physischen Konstitution der Schauspieler sowie zur Einstudierung der Prinzipien von Bewegungsanalyse
und -konstruktion. Die Aufmerksamkeit richtet sich auf das Spiel des Gleichgewichts, Rhythmus, Raum und Wahrnehmung des eigenen Körpers, sowie auf die Musikalität und die poetische Ausdruckskraft des Körpers in Bewegung.

Formbewusstsein, räumliche Koordination, Körperbeherrschung, Rhythmik und Musikalität, vor allem aber auch Exzentrik und Groteske, also die Suche nach körperlichen Extremzuständen, sind wichtige Merkmale der biomechanischen Spielkultur. Biomechanisch geschulte Schauspieler beherrschen i.d.R. ein äußerst breites Spektrum an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten und sind in der Lage, binnen kürzester Zeit die Spielregister zu wechseln, vom Expressiv-Artifiziellen über einen reduzierten Naturalismus bis hin zu Slapstick und Clownsspiel. Die verblüffende Vielseitigkeit der Biomechanik und ihre Fähigkeit, neue Einflüsse in ihr eigenes System zu integrieren, machen sie in der heutigen Situation zu einem wirkungsvollen Instrument eklektischer, postmoderner Spielweisen, die den Vorspielcharakter des Theaters ästhetisch reflektieren.

„The fundamental rule of Biomechanics is very simple: the whole body participates in every movement“
W. Meyerhold